Mpira wa Miguu

Until very recently, a small tragedy has plagued my stay in Tanzania. I had been here nearly two months, and had yet to play a game of soccer. I resolved this dilemma this afternoon, stepping out of the safe confines of Pamoja and walking down the street to the field. Along the ten minute walk I grew a tail of five children, all intrigued by this mzungu carrying a soccer ball.

A well trod S-shaped path winds through the field. The grass is low in the centre, stretching higher towards the sides. The tread of feet provides a natural mow, creating a vignette of vegetation. The field is littered with cow pies, and yes, I stepped in one. And also, I took a clearing attempt square in the face. I love how soccer eliminates all language barriers. I played for three hours, until I was forced home by exhaustion and dusk.

I feel a new Sunday tradition forming.

One Response

  1. Sounds perfect for a Sunday afternoon.
    Those kicks to the face kill!

Leave a Reply

