Wien

In my freshman year I took a breadth of courses in art and music history. It seemed like for half a millenia, every composer and artist of merit lived in Vienna. I decided then that a visit to the great Austrian capital was a must. In the zears since mz excitement over the city waned, but now that I have arrived, my love is complete. I don’t say this often, but I could truly live here. Vienna has all the history and beauty of a great European city, but without urban decay. The modernization of Vienna has been graceful, seemless– even the metro is clean. We visit the great Imperial palaces of Hofburg and Scönbrunn. At the Leopold Museum I swoon over Vienna’s Secessionist artists: Kolo Moser, Egon Schiele and Gustov Klimt. During the day we wander the streets, gazing up at the baroque architecture. In the evenings we sit on the banks of the Danube, smoking cigars as the citz passes into memory.

4 Responses

  1. Vienna has a special place in my heart. It just felt alive and liveable and historical and modern, and, well, perfect for a northwesterner with European leanings.

    I’ve been enjoying your reflections. Thankyou.

  2. “the citz.” What, I was wondering, could that be?? A new word that, like “fluke,” I don’t quite understand…and then I remembered those funny Hungarian keyboards, mixing up their zees and whys.

  3. were they austrian cigars?

  4. I’m for living there. Artists’ collective anyone?

Leave a Reply

