December 9th

(To read this story from the beginning, click here.)

I was hesitant. The long-standing traditions of Christmas were not yet ingrained, but there were rules. I had been warned constantly of the trouble I’d get into if I opened anything before Christmas day.

I approached the tree cautiously, one step at a time. I crawled below the ferns, searching the brightly coloured boxes for the right find. I shook, I rattled, I shuffled around back. And there, in the darkness of that tree, I saw two yellow eyes staring out at me.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

